NCV : Information Technology & Computer Science

Thekwini TVET College Opening doors to your future

The National Certificate (Vocational) offers Grade 9 learners a vocational alternative to an academic Grade 10-12 by offering specialised training on NQF levels 2-4.

If you would like to qualify with a specialised NQF level 4 certificate that will enable you to find relevant employment once qualified, the National Certificate (Vocational) is for you.

If you enjoy working with computers, this NCV Information Technology and computer science programme will give you a foot into the 21st century. IT is a critical part of our modern world and provides a vast choice of lucrative career opportunities.

How is the programme structured?
The National Certificate (Vocational) is a three year qualification made up of three certificates obtained on NQF Levels 2, 3 and 4.

All National Certificate (Vocational) programmes consist of a fundamentals learning component and a vocational component and comprise 130 credits on each level.

What will I learn?
The vocational subjects for the National Certificate (Vocational) Information Technology are:

  • Introduction to Information Systems (Level 2)
  • Electronics (Level 2)
  • Introduction to Systems Development (Level 2)
  • Systems Analysis and Design (Levels 3,4 )
  • Computer hardware and Software (Level 3)
  • Principles of Computer Programming (Level 3)
  • Data Communication and Networking (Level 4)
  • Computer Programming (Level 4)
  • Office Data processing (Level 2,3,4)

What is the minimum entrance requirements

  • A year end school report for Grade 9, 10, 11 or 12, or
  • An NQF Level 1 qualification, or
  • An approved bridging programme designed for the specific purpose to access NQF Level 2 , or
  • A Recognition of Prior Learning (RLP) assessment to meet the basic requirements for access to NQF Level 2.


3 years full-time (1 year per level; January – December)
*(Part-time – Not available)